21st Century School Leaders as “Wannabe Pseudo Geek Management Types”

As you know, I’m a strong believer that school leaders today need to model the use of technology daily. The modeling should be in ways that help him/her do their job more effectively. They don’t necessarily need to be using technology the same way that teachers do. The modeling also sends a message to teachers that he/she is willing to change his/her behavior and to learn  new things.

Well, for quite some time I’ve struggled with how to refer to a school leader (like myself) who strives to model appropriate use. I’ve never really thought of myself, or liked the term “geek” because I don’t really care about what is happening behind the technology and I don’t like troubleshooting. I just want to be the end user. Well, Scott Klososky in the video The Great Speaker Search of 2015 provides us with the new label, “Wannabe Pseudo Geek Management Types”. I kind of like it. I like the “not actually” part of this definition.

Pseudo
–adjective
1. not actually but having the appearance of; pretended; false or spurious; sham.
2. almost, approaching, or trying to be.

So, the next time that someone tries to label you as a “Geek” you can tell them, “Actually, I’m a “Wannabe Pseudo Geek Management Type”. I think that it will lead to a chuckle and maybe even a discussion on what it means.

Leave a Reply

